Medical Marijuana for Caregivers

Here for you — too.

When a loved one suffers from a serious illness, it affects the entire family. At Solevo Wellness™, you can rely on our pharmacists, medical professionals, and support staff to make sure you understand the treatment process and the care provided. Below is a list of frequently asked questions from the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

FAQ for caregivers.

Who is considered a “caregiver” under the Act?

The Act defines a “caregiver” as an individual, 21 years of age or older unless otherwise authorized by the department, who is designated by a patient or, if the patient is under 18 years of age, an individual that is a parent or legal guardian of the patient, or an individual designated by a parent or legal guardian, or an appropriate individual approved by the department upon a sufficient showing that no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available. Caregivers must undergo a criminal history background check, submit an application to the department for a medical marijuana caregiver identification card, and be registered with the department. The department will make applications for caregivers available on its website.

Can patients under the age of 18 with serious medical conditions get medical marijuana?

Yes. Patients under the age of 18 with a serious medical condition may obtain medical marijuana through a caregiver. For patients under the age of 18, a caregiver may be a parent or legal guardian, a person designated by a parent or guardian, or an individual approved by the department upon a sufficient showing that no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available. The caregiver must undergo a criminal history background check, apply to the department for an identification card, and be registered with the department. The patient must also have an identification card issued by the department. The department will make applications available to patients on its website.

Can someone else obtain medical marijuana on behalf of a patient?

Yes. When a patient submits an application to the department for an identification card, he or she may designate up to two caregivers. Caregivers must undergo a criminal history background check, submit an application to the department for an identification card, and be registered with the department. The department will make applications for caregivers available on its website. There is a $50 processing fee for caregiver applications, but the department may waive or reduce the fee if the applicant demonstrates financial hardship on the application.

Can a caregiver be designated by more than one patient?

Yes. A caregiver may be designated by up to five patients. Before obtaining medical marijuana for a patient, however, a caregiver must apply for and obtain a medical marijuana identification card and be registered with the department.

Where will patients or caregivers obtain medical marijuana?

Registered patients or caregivers with an identification card issued by the department may purchase medical marijuana at an approved dispensary that has a valid permit from the department and is located in the commonwealth. The department may issue permits to up to 50 dispensaries across the state. Each dispensary may have up to three locations in the state from which to dispense medical marijuana.

Join the Solevo Wellness Newsletter!

Sign up today and receive periodic updates about Solevo Wellness, medical marijuana in Pennsylvania, and upcoming educational events near you.

Your privacy is important to us. We will never share or sell your information.

 

©2018 Solevo Wellness